The killer whale / orca

- Killer whale / Orca. Scientific name: Orcinus orca

The killer whale, also called orca, is the largest member of the family Delphinidae with a length of 7 to 9 meters and an average weight of 6 tonnes (depending on the sex). In spite of this imposing stature, the orcs were captured as early as the 1960s. In 1964, the director of the Vancouver Aquarium, Dr. Murray Newman, commissioned a sculptor to collect a specimen of killer whale in order to carry out a life-size sculpture for the aquarium yard. During the "hunt", the sculptor choosed a young male observed South of Vancouver. Several harpoons were fired that day, but the animal did not die. Dr. Newman therefore decided to drag the orca to the aquarium, using the harpoon ropes. The first captive orca in the world was named Moby Doll, and quickly became a phenomenon and was the first of a long list.
(Ref : War of the Whales, Joshua Horwitz)

In the wild, there are several populations and ecotypes of orcas. Present mainly in cold and temperate waters, several observations of "tropical" orcas have been reported. These animals live in a matriarchal society where the associations of individuals are very strong. Depending on the population, orcas were seen feeding on marine mammals or fish and possibly cephalopods. Their life expectancy is impressive: the oldest orca known, "Granny" was observed from 1976 to the late 2016 by the Center for Whales Research and died at the age of 105 years.
In the North Atlantic, 3 populations of killer whales were observed: one in Scotland / Iceland feeding mainly on herring, one in Norway feeding mainly on salmon and finally one around Gibraltar feeding on tunas. In October 2017, a group of 5 orcas was observed off the Pyla, heading South. These animals probably migrated to Gibraltar. Studies will be set up in the future to better define this population.
The Killer whale is considered "Data Deficient" by IUCN and classified as Appendix II of CITES.
More information on the conservation status on the following link: http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/15421/0

L’orque

– L’orque : nom scientifique : Orcinus orca

L’orque est le plus grand représentant de la famille des Delphinidae avec une taille de 7 à 9 m pour un poids de 6 tonnes en moyenne (selon le sexe). Malgré cette stature imposante, les orques ont été capturées dès les années 60. En effet, en 1964, le directeur de l’aquarium de Vancouver, Dr Murray Newman, a mandaté un sculpteur pour collecter un spécimen d’orque afin d’en réaliser la sculpture grandeur nature pour la cour de l’aquarium. Lors de la « chasse », le sculpteur choisit un jeune mâle observé au sud de Vancouver. Plusieurs harpons furent tirés ce jour-là, mais l’animal ne mourait pas… Du coup, le Dr. Newman décida de traîner l’orque jusqu’à l’aquarium, à l’aide des cordes des harpons. La première orque captive du monde fut baptisée Moby Doll, devint très rapidement une célébrité et fut la première d’une longue liste.
(Ref : War of the Whales, Joshua Horwitz)

Dans la nature, il existe plusieurs populations et écotypes d’orques. Présentes essentiellement dans les eaux froides et tempérées, plusieurs observations d’orques « tropicales » ont été rapportées. Ces animaux vivent en société matriarcale où les associations d’individus sont très fortes. En fonction des populations, les orques ont été vues se nourrissant de mammifères marins ou de poissons et éventuellement de céphalopodes. Leur espérance de vie est impressionnante : la plus vieille orque connue, « Granny » a été observée de 1976 à fin 2016 par le Center for Whales Research et s’est éteinte à l’âge de 105 ans.
Dans l’Atlantique Nord, 3 populations d’orques ont été observées : une en Ecosse/Islande se nourrissant principalement de harengs, une en Norvège se nourrissant principalement de saumons et enfin une autour de Gibraltar se nourrissant de thons. En octobre 2017, un groupe de 5 orques a été observé au large du Pyla, se dirigeant vers le sud. Ces animaux migraient probablement vers Gibraltar. Des études vont être mises en place dans le futur afin de mieux définir cette population.
L’orque est considérée « Data Deficient » par l’IUCN et classé annexe II du CITES.
Plus d’information sur le statut de conservation : http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/15421/0