The Harbour Porpoise

- The Harbour : Scientific name: Phocoena phocoena (Pp)

With a length of about 1.20 meters in adulthood and a weight of around 60 kg, the harbour porpoise is the smallest cetacean. It is present in the rather cold waters of the Atlantic and North Pacific, but remains visible up to the Mediterranean Sea. Sexual maturity is reached around 4 to 6 years old and groups of "mothers / cubs" are sometimes observed. Like their cousins ​​the bottlenose dolphins, porpoises feed mainly on small fish, but cephalopods are not excluded from their diet. Besides, porpoises and bottlenose dolphins are sometimes competing on the same group of prey.

Porpoises, by their vast geographical distribution and their large number facilitating their observation, have been studied by many scientists. However, they are rather furtive and fierce animals, rather difficult to follow at sea and rather discreet: the jumps are rare and the animals remain little time on the surface.

In the Bay: groups of porpoises are observed each year at the entrance to the Arcachon Bay. However, observations within the Bay are almost non-existent. At this time, we do not know if the same animals are coming back every year. This aspect will be addressed during future research projects.

The porpoise is listed in CITES Appendix II, more information on the conservation status on the following link: http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/17027/0

Ref : http://doris.ffessm.fr/Especes/Phocoena-phocoena-Marsouin-commun-1796

Le Marsouin

– Le Marsouin : nom scientifique : Phocoena phocoena (Pp)

Avec une taille d’environ 1,20 m à l’âge adulte et un poids avoisinant 60 kg, le marsouin est le plus petit des cétacés. Il est présent dans les eaux plutôt froides de l’Atlantique et du Pacifique Nord, mais reste visible jusqu’à la mer Méditerranée. La maturité sexuelle est atteinte autour de 4 à 6 ans et des groupes de « mères/petits » sont parfois observés. Comme leurs cousins grands dauphins, les marsouins se nourrissent essentiellement de petits poissons, mais les céphalopodes ne sont pas exclus de leur régime alimentaire ; d’ailleurs, marsouins et grands dauphins sont parfois en compétition sur le même groupe de proies.

Les marsouins, de par leur vaste distribution géographique et leur grand nombre facilitant leur observation, ont été étudiés par de nombreux scientifiques. Toutefois ce sont des animaux plutôt furtifs et farouches, assez difficiles à suivre en mer et plutôt discrets : les sauts sont rares et les animaux restent peu de temps en surface.

Dans le Bassin : des groupes de marsouins sont observés chaque année à l’entrée du Bassin d’Arcachon. Cependant, les observations à l’intérieur du Bassin sont quasi inexistantes. A l’heure actuelle, nous ne savons pas si ce sont les mêmes animaux qui reviennent chaque année. Cet aspect sera abordé au cours de projets de recherche futurs.

Le marsouin est classé annexe II du CITES, plus d’information sur le statut de conservation : http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/17027/0

Ref : http://doris.ffessm.fr/Especes/Phocoena-phocoena-Marsouin-commun-1796