The Bottlenose Dolphin

– Le The Bottlenose Dolphin Scientific name: Tursiops truncatus (Tt)

It is undoubtedly the star of cetaceans because of various TV series, such as the inevitable "Flipper". Moreover, and unfortunately for it, the bottlenose dolphin adapts more easily than other species to life in captivity, which makes it popular in marine amusement parks.

The bottlenose dolphin is an extremely sociable animal that freely associates with other species and has a rather friendly behavior with humans. This success earned him to be captured by the US military during the Cold War, replacing soldiers and machines in the role of submarine deminer for example (ref: War of the Whales by Joshua Horwitz).

As the largest representative of the Delphinidae family, the bottlenose dolphin can be up to 3 meters long. It prefers to live in coastal waters although some pelagic groups have been observed offshore. This species is observed in all oceans but is not present in polar latitudes. Sexual maturity is reached around 10 years old for females, 2 or 3 years later for males. At the birth of the young ones, groups of females are created and help each other for their education.

Food wise, dolphins feed mainly on fish but it has been reported that some groups consume small calamari. Bottlenose dolphins hunt in groups and seem to use their sonar for communication purposes and maybe stunned. Many studies are still underway on this subject.

In the Bay: Several large dolphins have been observed in the Arcachon Bay for years. Françoise, the "star" has been observed since the 80s until the year 2000. A few years later, Randy, a young male, spent a brief stay in the Bay. He was then observed in La Rochelle. It is common that some fishermen or boaters report their observations of these animals along the “Arguin Bay” in the summer.

Like all cetaceans, bottlenose dolphins are protected by CITES Appendix II.

More information on the conservation status on the following link: http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/22563/0

Le Grand Dauphin

– Le Grand Dauphin : nom scientifique : Tursiops truncatus (Tt)

C’est sans conteste la star des cétacés du fait de diverses séries télévisées comme par exemple l’incontournable « Flipper ». De plus et malheureusement pour lui, le grand dauphin s’adapte plus facilement que d’autres espèces à la vie en captivité, ce qui le rend populaire dans les parcs d’attractions marins.

Le grand dauphin est un animal extrêmement sociable qui s’associe volontiers avec d’autres espèces et a un comportement plutôt amical avec l’homme. Ce succès lui a valu d’être capturé par l’armée américaine pendant la guerre froide, remplaçant soldats et machines dans le rôle de démineur sous marin par exemple (ref : War of the Whales de Joshua Horwitz).

En tant que plus grand représentant de la famille des Delphinidae, le grand dauphin peut mesurer jusqu’à 3 m de long. Il vit préférentiellement en eaux côtières bien que quelques groupes pélagiques aient été observés au large. Cette espèce est observée dans tous les océans mais n’est pas présente sous les latitudes polaires. La maturité sexuelle est atteinte vers 10 ans pour les femelles, 2 ou 3 ans plus tard pour les mâles. Lors de la naissance des petits, des associations de femelles voient le jour et s’entraident pour leur éducation.

Côté alimentation, les dauphins se nourrissent essentiellement de poissons mais il a été reporté que certains groupes consomment des petits calamars. Les grands dauphins chassent en groupe et semblent utiliser leur sonar à des fins de communication et peut être d’assommement, de nombreuses études sont encore en cours à ce sujet.

Dans le Bassin : Plusieurs grands dauphins ont été observés dans le Bassin d’Arcachon depuis des années. Françoise, la « vedette » a été observée depuis les années 80 jusqu’en 2000. Quelques années plus tard, Randy, un jeune mâle, a passé un bref séjour dans le Bassin, il a par la suite été observé à La Rochelle. Il est fréquent que certains pécheurs ou plaisanciers rapportent leurs observations de ces animaux au niveau du banc d’Arguin en été.

Comme tous les cétacés, le grand dauphin est protégé par l’Annexe II du CITES.

Plus d’information sur le statut de conservation : http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/22563/0