The Striped dolphin

The Striped dolphin. Scientific name: Stenella coeruleoalba

Present in every oceans, the striped dolphin is rather pelagic and tends to follow groups of small fish, but it also feeds on cephalopods. It measures about 2 meters long and is rather demonstrative by its activity on the surface. This specie has no sexual dimorphism, and it is therefor impossible to distinguish the male from the female (except by returning the animal, thanks to the presence of breast slits).

According to some research, striped dolphins are more likely to be nocturnal predators and would show a particular hunting organization by dispersing in small groups. By day, this organization changes and the group gets together. Groups can be composed of several hundred individuals!

Although still numerous, the striped dolphins undergo threats which affects their number (nets, pollutions, military tests, boats etc). They are not visible in captivity because they are so-called un-trainable!
Classified as "Least Concern" by IUCN, striped dolphins are still classified as Appendix II of CITES. More information on the following link: http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/20731/0

Le dauphin bleu et blanc

-Le dauphin bleu et blanc : nom scientifique : Stenella coeruleoalba

Présent dans tous les océans du globe, le dauphin bleu et blanc est plutôt pélagique et a tendance à suivre les bancs de petits poissons, mais il se nourrit aussi de céphalopodes. Il mesure environ 2 m et est plutôt démonstratif par son activité en surface. Cette espèce ne présente pas de dimorphisme sexuel, c’est-à-dire qu’il est impossible de distinguer le mâle de la femelle (à part en retournant l’animal, grâce à la présence de fentes mammaires).

D’après certaines recherches, les dauphins bleu et blanc seraient plutôt des prédateurs nocturnes et montreraient une organisation de chasse particulière en se dispersant par petits groupes. De jour, cette organisation change et le groupe se rassemble, les groupes peuvent être composée de plusieurs centaines d’individus!

Bien qu’encore nombreux, les dauphins bleu et blanc subissent des menaces qui affectent leur nombre (filets, pollutions, essais militaires, bateaux…). Ils ne sont pas visibles en captivité car « indressables » !
Classés « Least Concern » par l’IUCN, les dauphins bleu et blanc sont tout de même classés appendice II du CITES. Plus d’information sur : : http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/20731/0