The sperm whale

- The sperm whale. Scientific name: Physeter macrocephalus

The sperm whale is the largest toothed cetacean in the world with a length of about 18 meters and a weight of more than 30 tons for large males. Females are much smaller (up to 13 meters long), so sexual dimorphism is pronounced in this species.
Feeding on cephalopods at great depths, the sperm whale is described as a great diver: it dives up to 2000 m deep and can stay in apnea for 45 min. To reduce its energy loss, the sperm whale has an unusual adaptation: spermaceti. This organ is formed of a huge pocket of lipids located in the head of the sperm whale (hence its original form). When hot, the spermaceti is liquid, sparse and the animal floats. When he wants to dive, he solidifies his spermaceti which becomes denser and the sperm whale descends in the depths head first, almost without a flick. The circulation of his blood is directly related to the density of spermaceti that the sperm whale is able to regulate to adapt his diving profile, making him a great rival for physicists!
In addition to this organ, the sperm whale has ambergris in its intestines, allowing it to digest the beaks of cephalopods it feeds. Spermaceti + grey amber made him a highly coveted animal by the whalers who hunted him from the 1700s.
It was after the sinking of the whaling ship "Essex" off South America in 1820 because of a sperm whale that the description of a sperm whale (dubbed Mocha Dick) riddled with harpoons off the coast of Chile in the 1830s that the novel Moby Dick was born in 1851.
The sperm whale is listed as Vulnerable by the IUCN Red List and is listed as Appendix I of CITES and Appendices I and II of the CMS.

More information on the conservation status on the following link: http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/41755/0

Le cachalot

– Le cachalot : nom scientifique : Physeter macrocephalus

Le cachalot est le plus grand cétacé à dents du monde avec une longueur d’environ 18 m et un poids de plus de 30 tonnes pour les grands mâles. Les femelles sont bien plus petites (jusqu’à 13 m), donc le dimorphisme sexuel est prononcé chez cette espèce.
Se nourrissant de céphalopodes dans les grandes profondeurs, le cachalot est qualifié de grand plongeur : il plonge jusqu’à 2000 m de profondeur et peut rester en apnée 45 min ! Pour limiter sa perte d’énergie, le cachalot possède une adaptation hors du commun : le spermaceti. Cet organe est formé d’une énorme poche de lipides située dans la tête du cachalot (d’où sa forme pour le moins originale). Quand le spermaceti est chaud, il est liquide, peu dense et l’animal flotte. Lorsqu’il souhaite plonger, il solidifie son spermaceti qui devient plus dense, et le cachalot descend dans les profondeurs la tête la première, quasiment sans un coup de nageoire. La circulation de son sang est directement liée à la densité du spermaceti que le cachalot est donc capable de réguler pour adapter son profil de plongée, faisant de lui un grand rival pour les physiciens !
En plus de cet organe, le cachalot possède de l’ambre gris dans ses intestins, lui permettant de digérer les becs de céphalopodes dont il se nourrit. Spermaceti + ambre gris ont fait de lui un animal très convoité par les baleiniers qui l’ont chassé à partir des années 1700.
C’est après le naufrage du baleinier « Essex » au large de l’Amérique du Sud en 1820 à cause d’un cachalot, puis de la description d’un cachalot blanc (baptisé Mocha Dick) criblé de harpons au large du Chili dans les années 1830 que le roman Moby Dick a vu le jour en 1851.
Le cachalot est statué « Vulnérable » par la liste rouge de l’IUCN et est classé Appendice I du CITES et Appendices I et II du CMS.

Plus d’informations sur le statut de conservation : http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/41755/0